Pagan Meme

I have no brain due to moving preparations for people, pets, and plants, so here have a

Pagan Meme!

This meme was started by Juniper.

What is your path?

Hoodoo,Buddhism, Norse Paganism, and a little bit of Hellenism. I will befriend any deity that knocks on my door.

Please describe briefly how you practice it:

Offerings, conversations, oracles, dreamwork, encountering the animated spirit within all things.

When did you first commit to your Path?

As a teen.

How is your practice different now than it was then?
I was Wiccan, then. Now, I’m more likely to take chances, less likely to cast spells, and more attuned to nature. I’m far less likely to want the initiation from any given path.

Is your practice different today than how you thought it would be back then?

Absolutely. Stillness, yoga, gardening. I was a total urbanite then. I was very “Wearing my pentacle everywhere.” I’m infinitely interested in how people engage with the divine, where they see it, whether they follow a structured path or not.

Does your Path and core belief system differ now than how it was when you first started?

No, I’ve always believed in love, beauty, magic. I’m a real romantic.

What is your heritage and how does this inform your Path?
I’m Portuguese, Puerto Rican, and Cape Verdean. My heritage influences it less than my upbringing, which involved all kinds of superstitions, rituals, and animism.

What are your main influences for your Path?
Love, Beauty, Honeybees, Oshun, Freyja, Aphrodite, Ancestors, Dreams

Which do you do more: practice or research?

Research, soon to change, though.

Do you feel that one is more important than the other?

I think practice is. It’s the only way to Mastery. Plus, I believe that everyone is magical, special needs children, children, the illiterate, etc. can practice magic, and they probably don’t do much research in ways that we understand it.

What values and ethics are important on your Path and in your practice?
Love, kindness, frith, environmentalism, beauty.

What sort of cycles do you feel your practice goes through?

All practice or all research. Times when I forget to call the Gods and Ancestors, and times when they’re always present.

What is one of the greatest obstacles or struggles you have had to over come?
Fear of Odin.

How do you see yourself practicing in ten years?

I hope I’m more secure in what I’m doing, more trusting of my gifts and path, and that I look less to books for answers.

How do you incorporate your practice into your life?
What I wear, where I spend my money, my awareness of the effects of my “mundane” choices, how I approach people (mainly) what I offer.

Has walking your Path changed you as a person?
No, but I think it gave me what I needed to express myself.

Do you consider yourself to be a priest/ess? How so?
Yes. Its one way I interact with others.

A witch? How so?
I know the way between the worlds, well, some of them…

A shaman? How so?
I practice shamanic techniques, occasionally but, no.

Which matters more: getting the vocabulary right or the actual practice of what we are trying to define?
The actual practice.

One of the most profound things anyone ever said to you was:
“Reveal the jewel in your heart.”

A defining moment on your Path was:
My Oshun headwash.

Have you ever taken a “leap of faith”?
I eventually invoked Odin.

Please tell us something stupid, reckless or embarrassing you did once in your practice:
Annoyed my tarot cards into giving me an answer. They revolted by answering with reversals. Every card.

What is the most frustrating thing about your Path?
Mistrust of myself and the messages.

Have you ever been frightened?

Of course.

Can you perform ritual without a script?
Yes.

Have you ever preformed spontaneous magick/spellcraft?
Yes

What are you still exploring or experimenting with?
Life

What (or whom) are you the most committed to in your practice and on your Path?
Love, beauty, Freyr, Freyja, Oshun, Aphrodite.

Ritual tools are …
Fun

Magickal tools are …
Fun

The one thing you can’t do without is:
Water

Seeking personal power is …
Best done with consideration to one’s limitations.

Politics and you Path are …
Slightly related

One thing you wish people would understand about your Path and/or practice is:
This is mine. Please respect that I follow it, and follow yours.

Do you teach?

Yes

What do you feel is the role of clergy in modern Paganism and Heathenism?
Responsibility, and a need to grasp boundaries.

When the Veil (or Hedge!) is thin, how does that feel to you?
Witchy and magical. Like “This is why I do this.”

What entities do you work with most? (ancestors, gods, fae etc)
Ancestors, gods, other spirits land, dead…

What is your relationship with the Land?

I’m developing one. I’m looking for land and when I have some, I want to create a pollinator reserve.

The most important aspect of ritual is:
Presence

The main purpose of ritual is:
Engaging with the spirits, celebration.

What is the purpose of divination/dowsing (or whichever for of augury you use)?
Another point of view.

What was the most difficult book you ever read? (Either difficult to understand or hard to face what it said or both)
Crowley. Anything Crowley. What? The hell? And what is up with your punctuation?

What book do you recommend the most to others?
Depends on the purpose. The Eros of Everyday Life, Thomas Moore, Notes on the Need for Beauty J. Ruth Gendler, When Women Were Birds, Terry Tempest Williams, Anything written by Diane Ackerman

What is you favourite podcast (if any) and favourite blog (other than your own)?
I don’t listen to podcasts…some of the Pagan Square and Patheos blogs are interesting. The ones I’m committed to are listed on your left.

If you could impart only one last piece of wisdom or knowledge, or share one experience with the world at large, what would it be?
Try it. Theory can’t hold a candle to experience.

Is there an additional question you would like to see here? What is it? (please also answer)

What does your family think of your beliefs?

Please finish this meme with a picture, image or photograph of some sort:

Oshun

Oshun

About tanisharose

Priestess of Love and Beauty, Witch of the East, Tarot and Rune Reader, Spirit Worker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

