Sexual Survivors Photography Project (Triggery)

One of the things that I have been brought to this county for is to heal what’s left of the wounds around the sexual abuse I suffered as a child, which led to me having a skewed idea of what an acceptable partner is and what a romantic relationship was like. My uncle created a world in which he was my boyfriend and gave me a different name to respond to as his girlfriend. I was 5 or 6, and it went on until I was about 12. This is hard to share in a public venue and its intimidating, but part of the process. It took me a long time to grasp that my body belonged to me and that I had the ability to say “No” to unwanted sexual advances (it also took me ages to figure out what a “wanted” vs “unwanted” sexual advance was. I spent years saying “Yes” out of fear of what would happen if I said no.
Anyway, this was an important and empowering project, and its tied to the healing I am working on and I thought I’d share. 

About tanisharose

Priestess of Love and Beauty, Witch of the East, Tarot and Rune Reader, Spirit Worker
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

