Lakshmi Purascharana Lay Person Style

So my work with Lakshmi has been good to me. The first time I was working with her, we finally (after  5 months) received a $500 prize that we won for writing a winning grant. Now that’s not new money from the universe, but it was money (that was rightly ours) that we weren’t granted access to. So I’ll call that a win.

Lately, after more research on Lakshmi, and the traditions that honor her- I’ve wanted to do something more long term-it’s great to have a windfall, but even better to create a steady, useful, stream of income.

Goddess-Laxmi-Maa-Photo

The Purascharana is a system of chanting a mantra a very high number of times. As I have researched, and asked gurus-the number, and the way of getting to the number are also very different. Some say “125,000 times” others say “1,000 times per letter of the mantra” some say “1,000 times per syllable of the mantra” and some say 10,000 times per each of those things. Upon reaching the number, you should “achieve the highest expression of the mantra.”

Since I’m a lay person without a guru-I’m going with 125,000 times.

Though I’m still unsure of what mantra to her I’m using. I like the idea of the bija seed mantras, but there’s also the classic “Om Shree Mahalakshmiyei Namaha”. I’m not going to freak out about how many I do in a day, as long as I do one round. I’m also not going to use a traditional mala. As I understand it, coins are Lakshmi made manifest, so I will use 108 coins, and at the end- I will give them away.

The other thing I like about Lakshmi is she’s fun to work with. She isn’t challenging like Oshun or Freyja. She’s just happy to receive whatever you’re giving with an open heart, and she’s happy to give. So working with her is unabashed happiness, everything is sweet and beautiful.

About tanisharose

Priestess of Love and Beauty, Witch of the East, Tarot and Rune Reader, Spirit Worker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

