Bodhisattva

Bodhisattva

As I remain quite uncertain after 9 years, about the Bodhisattva Vow- I nonetheless-practice living the Bodhisattva way (mind you -this has been only recently pointed out to me). I have found that adding a round of the mantra at the end of my practice for the benefit of all beings-has been greatly appreciated and that it makes me feel as if I have given something to the world- despite the fact that it isn’t a physical gift.

About tanisharose

Priestess of Love and Beauty, Witch of the East, Tarot and Rune Reader, Spirit Worker
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bodhisattva

  1. EmberVoices says:

    The Bodhisattva path makes so much sense for you.

    I can’t take the vow for various reasons, not the least of which is that I can’t and won’t make promises about what I’ll do between lives or in subsequent lives. But the Buddhist (especially Zen) ideas about what kind of things make a good vow and the Heathen ones follow very different philosophies, I think.

    -E-

    • tanisharose says:

      I’ve known it makes sense for me for a very long time, I just can’t grasp the whole “until everyone is ready” business- I’ve had this trouble for years. I’ve practiced metta and chanted Quan Yin and Tara Mantras for years. I also attended East Bay Meditation Center for a few years and attended various teachings.
      And yes-as influenced as I am by the Norse traditions, it is hard to accept the BV the way it’s written. I’m happy to work for the awakening of others and the end of suffering (and to cause as little suffering as possible-which is why the non-veg thing was such a blow) but I can only see committing for this lifetime.

      That said- I have wondered if some other version of me has taken the vow in the past.

      It rubs up against other trads, too including the African trads, since there’s sacrifice in that-and that’s suffering no matter how I cut it.

      But if dreams, portents, hearts, and messages hold sway- it looks like where I’m going…
      T

      • EmberVoices says:

        Part of what concerns me is that it assumes everyone would get off the cycle if they could. It’s like a more peaceful version of the Christian missionary’s assumption – that everyone *would* be Christian if only they understood.

        That’s not safe to assume, and it has a side effect of denying agency to those who choose otherwise.

        But to promise to help as much as possible everyone who would choose that if they could – to help them have the most choice possible in it, sure, I can get behind that.

        -E-

      • EmberVoices says:

        You’re really loving being able to make the Venus symbol, aren’t you? *laughs* -E-

      • tanisharose says:

        *haha* Yup. It’s basically changed my whole life. If I had a headstone, I’d put one on it!

Leave a Reply

